For a solar lantern rechargeable enough for camping and outages, I’d start with the Energizer S-500 Hybrid Solar Camping Lantern as the best overall choice for its hybrid charging approach. The Raynic lantern adds a hand crank when sunlight or a charged battery is unavailable, while the Lepwings 6000mAh lantern stands out for buyers prioritizing stated battery capacity. The main tradeoffs are backup options versus simplicity, individual output versus multi-lantern coverage, and portability versus battery capacity. Solar charging can be useful, but its speed depends on available sunlight, so USB charging and runtime claims matter too. Read on for how the 11 options compare and which type of buyer each suits best.
Get your wardrobe favorites delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Key Takeaways
- The lineup favors backup flexibility in different ways: the Energizer S-500 combines solar with other charging, while the Raynic adds a hand crank for situations when charging sources are limited.
- Multi-packs are about coverage, not necessarily stronger light: several Lichamp, XTAUTO, DIBMS, and LETMY options supply four lanterns, which can suit a household or group better than a single high-output model.
- Headline lumen figures do not settle the choice: the Samuun C30 lists 2000 lumens and the Lepwings lists 6000mAh, but buyers should still compare lighting modes, runtime details, and charging options.
- Collapsible designs prioritize compact storage: they can pack down for emergency kits and camping, while their usefulness depends on whether the folding format and flashlight function fit your intended setup.
- Water resistance and waterproof claims are not interchangeable: the 1000-lumen lantern lists IPX4, while some product names use broader waterproof language; match protection to the exposure you expect rather than relying on a title alone.
| Lichamp Collapsible Portable Solar Camping Lantern, USB Rechargeable LED Flashlight – 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Compact Emergency Kits | Pack size: 4 lanterns | Maximum light output: 300 lumens | Charging: Solar and USB | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Solar Rechargeable Camping Lantern, 1000 Lumen LED Lantern, 5 Lighting Modes, IPX4 Water Resistant | ![]() | Best for Bright Campsite Lighting | Maximum light output: 1000 lumens | Battery capacity: 4000mAh | Charging: Solar and USB-C | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Lichamp 4-Pack Solar Camping Lanterns, USB Rechargeable | ![]() | Best for Adjustable Light Color | Pack size: 4 lanterns | Maximum light output: Up to 600 lumens | Light modes: Bright white, standard white, and warm orange | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Collapsible Portable LED Camping Lantern XTAUTO Solar USB Rechargeable LED Flashlight – 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Long Listed Runtime | Pack size: 4 lanterns | Charging: Solar and USB | Battery capacity: 1600mAh | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DIBMS 4-Pack Solar Camping Lanterns with Collapsible Flashlights | ![]() | Best for Defined Recharge Times | Pack size: 4 lanterns | Maximum brightness: Up to 300 lumens | Battery capacity: 1600mAh | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Raynic Rechargeable LED Camping Lantern with Hand Crank and Solar Charging | ![]() | Best for Emergency Readiness | Maximum light output: 650 lumens | Runtime: Up to 200 hours at 50 lumens | Charging methods: 5V 2A Micro USB, solar, and hand crank | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| LETMY 4-Pack Rechargeable Solar Camping Lanterns | ![]() | Best Multi-Lantern Pack | Pack size: 4 lanterns | Light source: COB LED | Maximum light output: 600 lumens | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Samuun C30 Rechargeable Solar Camping Lantern, 2000 Lumens | ![]() | Best for High-Output Lighting | Model: C30 | Maximum light output: 2000 lumens | Battery: 5000 mAh, 3.85V, 19.25Wh lithium-ion polymer | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| XTAUTO 2-Pack Collapsible Solar and USB Rechargeable Camping Lanterns | ![]() | Best Compact Two-Pack | Pack count: 2 | Light source: 7 LED chips | Charging methods: Solar and USB | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Energizer S-500 Hybrid Solar Camping Lantern | ![]() | Best for Familiar, Flexible Power | Light output: Up to 500 lumens | Light modes: High, Low, and Night Light | Power sources: Rechargeable lithium-ion battery or 3 AA batteries | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Lepwings Solar Rechargeable Camping Lantern, 6000mAh | ![]() | Best for Long, Adjustable Runtime | Battery capacity: 6000mAh | Battery type: Lithium-ion | Charging methods: Solar and USB | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| solar lantern rechargeable | Water resistance | Dimensions | Maximum light output | Charging |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lichamp Collapsible Portable S | Water resistant | 3.7 x 3.7 x 5.4 in | 300 lumens | Solar and USB |
| Solar Rechargeable Camping Lan | IPX4 | 4.54 x 4.04 x 7.95 in | 1000 lumens | Solar and USB-C |
| Lichamp 4-Pack Solar Camping L | Water resistant | 3.74 x 3.62 x 5.1 in | Up to 600 lumens | — |
| Collapsible Portable LED Campi | Listed as waterproof | — | — | Solar and USB |
| DIBMS 4-Pack Solar Camping Lan | IPX4 | — | — | USB and solar |
| Raynic Rechargeable LED Campin | IPX4 | 6.42 × 4.09 × 4.09 inches | 650 lumens | — |
| LETMY 4-Pack Rechargeable Sola | — | — | 600 lumens | — |
| Samuun C30 Rechargeable Solar | — | 4.92 × 4.92 × 1.02 inches | 2000 lumens | USB and 1W monocrystalline solar panel |
| XTAUTO 2-Pack Collapsible Sola | Described as waterproof; no IP rating specified | 3.54 × 3.54 × 7.68 inches | — | — |
| Energizer S-500 Hybrid Solar C | IPX4 | 3.74 × 3.74 × 7.32 inches | — | Solar panel or USB |
| Lepwings Solar Rechargeable Ca | IPX4 | — | — | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Lichamp Collapsible Portable Solar Camping Lantern, USB Rechargeable LED Flashlight – 4-Pack
The Lichamp 4-pack is a practical fit for households that want several compact lights ready for outages, rather than one high-output campsite lantern. Each unit converts from a collapsible 360-degree lantern to a flashlight, and solar plus USB charging gives you two ways to replenish the rechargeable battery. Its listed maximum of 300 lumens is more modest than the Westinghouse 1000-lumen lantern, so I’d favor Lichamp for placing lights in separate rooms or sharing among campers, not for lighting a large area with one unit. The USB output can also provide emergency device charging, though the product data does not give the battery capacity or lantern runtime. The included AAA batteries and water-resistant construction add flexibility, but the charging details are less specific than on the DIBMS set.
Pros:- Four lanterns make it easy to distribute light across rooms or among a group.
- Collapsible body serves as both a 360-degree lantern and a flashlight.
- Solar and USB charging offer two replenishment options.
- USB output can charge Android devices in an emergency.
Cons:- Maximum output is 300 lumens, below the Westinghouse 1000-lumen model.
- Runtime and rechargeable-battery capacity are not specified.
- Water resistance is described generally, without a stated IP rating.
Best for: Households building a multi-room outage kit or groups that want four collapsible lights with flashlight and emergency USB-output functions.
Not ideal for: Campers who need a clearly specified overnight runtime, stronger single-lantern output, or documented water-resistance rating.
- Pack size:4 lanterns
- Maximum light output:300 lumens
- Charging:Solar and USB
- Additional power:USB output for Android devices
- Lighting:360-degree lantern and flashlight
- Material:ABS
- Water resistance:Water resistant
- Dimensions:3.7 x 3.7 x 5.4 in
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Choose this four-pack for distributed emergency lighting and dual lantern-flashlight use, but pick a higher-output option for lighting a larger campsite.”
Solar Rechargeable Camping Lantern, 1000 Lumen LED Lantern, 5 Lighting Modes, IPX4 Water Resistant
Among these five options, the Westinghouse solar lantern is the clearest choice when brightness matters more than getting several lights in one package. Its stated 1000-lumen output is well above the 300-lumen Lichamp and DIBMS lanterns, making it better suited to lighting a shared campsite or tent area. USB-C charging gives you a direct alternative to solar when daylight is limited, while the 4000mAh battery provides more capacity than the listed DIBMS 1600mAh unit. The tradeoff is that this is a single lantern, not a multi-light kit, and its five modes are summarized inconsistently: the description lists high, medium, low, and SOS, without detailing a fifth. IPX4 offers protection against splashes and light rain, not a reason to leave it exposed to heavy weather.
Pros:- Listed 1000-lumen output exceeds the Lichamp and DIBMS lanterns.
- Solar and USB-C charging provide both outdoor and wired recharge options.
- 4000mAh battery capacity is specified.
- IPX4 rating suits splashes and light rain.
Cons:- Single-lantern package offers less distributed coverage than the four-packs.
- Runtime is not provided, making overnight planning less certain.
- The description claims five modes but names only four.
Best for: Campers who want one brighter lantern for a shared tent or campsite and can recharge it by USB-C when sunlight is insufficient.
Not ideal for: Households seeking multiple room-by-room outage lights or buyers who need a fully specified runtime or clearly documented five-mode list.
- Maximum light output:1000 lumens
- Battery capacity:4000mAh
- Charging:Solar and USB-C
- Lighting modes:High, medium, low, and SOS listed; description states 5 modes
- Color temperature:5000K
- Water resistance:IPX4
- Material:ABS
- Dimensions:4.54 x 4.04 x 7.95 in
Our verdict“Pick the Westinghouse if you want the brightest stated output in this group, but choose a four-pack when several separate lights matter more.”
Lichamp 4-Pack Solar Camping Lanterns, USB Rechargeable
The Lichamp 4-pack stands apart for its three light colors: bright white, standard white, and warm orange. That range gives campers more choice over the feel of a tent or campsite than the Westinghouse lantern, which is listed with a fixed 5000K daylight-white color temperature. These collapsible lights also offer three power options—solar, USB, or three AA batteries—so AA cells can serve as a fallback if recharging is not practical. At up to 600 lumens per listing, they sit between the 300-lumen Lichamp CLS-L004BK and the 1000-lumen Westinghouse. The rechargeable battery can act as an emergency power bank, but the battery capacity and runtime are not supplied, so I would not choose this set based on a promise of all-night lighting. Four USB cables are included.
Pros:- Three light colors include warm orange as well as two white settings.
- Solar, USB, and AA power options provide useful backup flexibility.
- Four collapsible lanterns suit group camping or multiple rooms.
- Rechargeable battery can provide emergency device charging.
Cons:- Runtime and rechargeable-battery capacity are not specified.
- AA operation requires three batteries per lantern.
- The water-resistance description does not include an IP rating.
Best for: Campers and emergency-kit planners who want four lights with warm and cool color choices plus AA-battery backup.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a verified runtime, detailed battery-capacity information, or a stronger documented water-resistance rating.
- Pack size:4 lanterns
- Maximum light output:Up to 600 lumens
- Light modes:Bright white, standard white, and warm orange
- Power sources:Solar, USB rechargeable, or 3 AA batteries
- Material:ABS
- Water resistance:Water resistant
- Dimensions:3.74 x 3.62 x 5.1 in
- Included components:4 lanterns and 4 USB cables
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Choose this set for color flexibility and AA backup across four lights, not for buyers who need a dependable, documented runtime.”
Collapsible Portable LED Camping Lantern XTAUTO Solar USB Rechargeable LED Flashlight – 4-Pack
The XTAUTO four-pack earns its place for buyers who value a stated runtime and want lights that collapse for storage. Its listing claims more than 25 hours per full charge, giving it a longer stated duration than the DIBMS set’s 6–11 hours, though neither figure should be treated as a guarantee across brightness settings. The pull-up design adjusts the lantern’s brightness and also creates a 360-degree lantern-flashlight combination, useful when one light needs to serve different tasks. Solar and USB charging cover the same basic options as the Lichamp sets, but the product data lists waterproofing without a specific IP rating. Output in lumens is not provided, so the Westinghouse remains the better-documented choice for brightness. Choose XTAUTO for a multi-light kit with a strong runtime claim, not for precise brightness comparisons.
Pros:- Four lights can cover multiple rooms or serve a group.
- Listing states more than 25 hours of lighting per full charge.
- Pull-up design adjusts brightness and shifts between lantern and flashlight use.
- Solar and USB charging support flexible recharging.
Cons:- No lumen output is stated, limiting comparison with the 1000-lumen Westinghouse.
- Runtime is not broken down by brightness setting.
- Waterproofing is claimed without a specific IP rating.
Best for: Campers and households seeking four collapsible lights with a stated long runtime and solar-plus-USB charging.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a confirmed lumen rating, a clearly stated IP rating, or precise runtime by brightness mode.
- Pack size:4 lanterns
- Charging:Solar and USB
- Battery capacity:1600mAh
- Listed runtime:More than 25 hours
- Beam coverage:360 degrees
- Color temperature:6000K
- Material:ABS
- Water resistance:Listed as waterproof
Our verdict“Choose XTAUTO for a four-light kit with a long stated runtime, but select the Westinghouse if a clear brightness figure is your priority.”
DIBMS 4-Pack Solar Camping Lanterns with Collapsible Flashlights
The DIBMS 4-pack is the most specific option here about how long recharging may take: the listing gives about four hours by USB and nine hours in direct sunlight. That makes it easier to plan than the Lichamp and XTAUTO packs, whose charging times are not stated. Each lantern combines a 300-lumen 360-degree lantern with a separate flashlight, plus a folding hook for hanging. The tradeoff is modest output compared with the Westinghouse 1000-lumen lantern, and its 1600mAh battery is smaller than Westinghouse’s listed 4000mAh capacity. Runtime information also varies within the supplied details, which cite both six hours and a 6–11-hour range. IPX4 protection covers splashes, but the long solar recharge time means USB is the more predictable option when you need the lights ready soon.
Pros:- USB charging time is listed as about four hours.
- Solar charging time is specified as about nine hours in direct sunlight.
- Lantern and separate flashlight functions add task flexibility.
- Four units include folding hooks and IPX4 splash protection.
Cons:- Maximum output is 300 lumens, well below the Westinghouse model.
- Solar recharge requires about nine hours of direct sunlight.
- Runtime details conflict, with both six hours and 6–11 hours stated.
Best for: Campers who want four lightweight lantern-flashlight units and clearly stated USB and direct-sunlight charging times.
Not ideal for: Buyers prioritizing high output, a large battery, or a single consistent runtime figure for overnight use.
- Pack size:4 lanterns
- Maximum brightness:Up to 300 lumens
- Battery capacity:1600mAh
- Charging:USB and solar
- USB charging time:About 4 hours
- Solar charging time:About 9 hours in direct sunlight
- Listed runtime:6–11 hours; other supplied details state 6 hours
- Water resistance:IPX4
- Weight:8.02 oz
Our verdict“Choose DIBMS if stated recharge times and four hanging lantern-flashlights matter more than high brightness or an unambiguous runtime.”
Raynic Rechargeable LED Camping Lantern with Hand Crank and Solar Charging
The Raynic is the strongest fit here for buyers who value backup power options as much as light. Its USB, solar, and hand-crank charging give you alternatives when outlets are unavailable, and the lantern can also provide emergency phone charging. The tradeoff is that solar and hand-crank charging are described as ways to maintain power, not quickly refill the battery, so USB is the more practical main charging method. Its 650-lumen maximum is brighter than the Energizer S-500 at 500 lumens, while the Raynic’s 200-hour figure applies only at a low 50-lumen setting. That extended runtime suits overnight use, but not at full brightness. Choose it for backup flexibility rather than dependable high-output lighting for long stretches.
Pros:- USB, solar, and hand-crank charging provide multiple fallback options
- Dimming from 0 to 650 lumens supports both low-light and brighter tasks
- Can charge a phone in an emergency
- Metal handle supports carrying or hanging
Cons:- Solar and hand-crank charging are backup methods that mainly maintain power
- The 200-hour runtime applies at just 50 lumens
- Micro USB is an older charging connection
Best for: Campers and households preparing for outages who want several backup charging methods and occasional emergency phone power.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need solar to recharge the battery quickly or expect 200 hours of runtime at high brightness.
- Maximum light output:650 lumens
- Runtime:Up to 200 hours at 50 lumens
- Charging methods:5V 2A Micro USB, solar, and hand crank
- Battery:6000 mAh rechargeable lithium polymer
- Water resistance:IPX4
- Color temperature:2700 K
- Dimensions:6.42 × 4.09 × 4.09 inches
- Weight:13.28 ounces
- Warranty:18 months
Our verdict“Choose the Raynic if emergency charging flexibility matters more than fast solar recharging or long high-brightness runtime.”
LETMY 4-Pack Rechargeable Solar Camping Lanterns
The LETMY four-pack is aimed at buyers who need light in several places at once: a campsite, tent, vehicle, or emergency supply area. Each collapsible lantern offers solar, USB, and three-AA-battery power, so there is more fallback flexibility than with the two-lantern XTAUTO pack. The 600-lumen maximum and 360-degree illumination suit shared spaces, while the collapsible design makes storage simpler. The main drawback is uncertainty around endurance: the description says 12-plus hours, but product information also lists two hours, so I would not choose it when a predictable runtime is the priority. AA batteries are not included, and the pack adds more units to keep charged. This makes better sense for spreading light around than for a single dependable lantern.
Pros:- Four lanterns provide lighting for multiple spaces
- Solar, USB, and three-AA-battery power options
- Collapsible body is easier to store and carry
- Up to 600 lumens with 360-degree illumination
Cons:- Battery-life information conflicts between the description and product details
- Three AA batteries per lantern are not included
- Keeping several units charged takes more attention than maintaining one lantern
Best for: Camp organizers and households who want several compact lanterns with multiple power options for different rooms or tents.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly specified runtime, want only one lantern, or expect AA backup batteries to be included.
- Pack size:4 lanterns
- Light source:COB LED
- Maximum light output:600 lumens
- Power sources:Solar, USB rechargeable, or 3 AA batteries per lantern (not included)
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Battery life:Description states 12+ hours; product information lists 2 hours
- Material:ABS
- Special features:Collapsible design and 360-degree illumination
Our verdict“Pick the LETMY pack when distributing several versatile lights matters more than having a clearly documented runtime.”
Samuun C30 Rechargeable Solar Camping Lantern, 2000 Lumens
For buyers who need a compact lantern with a strong burst of light, the Samuun C30 leads this group with a stated maximum of 2000 lumens. Its white, warm, natural, and red settings offer more control over the feel of the light than the simpler modes on the Energizer S-500. The C30 is also rated IP65, a stronger stated water-and-dust protection level than the IPX4 Raynic and Energizer. Its limits are tied to power: maximum brightness lasts just over six hours, and the 1W solar panel may replenish the battery slowly. At minimum brightness, runtime exceeds 50 hours, making dimmed use more practical for longer nights. I’d choose it for adjustable output and weather protection, not as a lantern to run at full power all night.
Pros:- Highest stated maximum output in this group at 2000 lumens
- Four light colors, adjustable brightness, and emergency red flash
- IP65-rated housing offers water and dust protection
- Lightweight at 8.8 ounces
Cons:- Maximum-brightness runtime is just over six hours
- The 1W solar panel may charge slowly
- Includes a Micro USB cable rather than a newer USB-C cable
Best for: Campers and outdoor users who want high stated brightness, multiple color options, and stronger water-and-dust protection in a lightweight lantern.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need long runtime at maximum brightness or expect the small solar panel to recharge the battery quickly.
- Model:C30
- Maximum light output:2000 lumens
- Battery:5000 mAh, 3.85V, 19.25Wh lithium-ion polymer
- Charging:USB and 1W monocrystalline solar panel
- Light modes:White, warm, natural, red, adjustable brightness, and emergency red flash
- Runtime:Over 6 hours at maximum; over 50 hours at minimum
- Water and dust resistance:IP65
- Dimensions:4.92 × 4.92 × 1.02 inches
- Weight:8.8 ounces
Our verdict“Choose the Samuun C30 for bright, configurable light and IP65 protection, provided you can manage its limited full-power runtime.”
XTAUTO 2-Pack Collapsible Solar and USB Rechargeable Camping Lanterns
The XTAUTO two-pack is a practical pick for buyers who want two portable lights without committing to the four-lantern LETMY pack. Its collapsible form keeps storage manageable, and each unit can work as either a 360-degree lantern or a flashlight. Raising or lowering the lantern adjusts brightness, a simple approach that avoids a separate set of controls but offers less precise adjustment than the Samuun C30. Solar and USB charging are both available, with up to 25 hours of stated battery life; the actual runtime may vary with use, and charging time is not specified. The waterproof claim suits outdoor use, though no IP rating is given. I’d favor these for compact backup lighting, not when a quantified weather-protection rating or detailed brightness levels matter.
Pros:- Two lanterns provide a spare or allow light in separate locations
- Collapsible design and folding handle support compact storage and hanging
- Can be used as a lantern or flashlight
- Solar and USB charging with up to 25 hours of stated battery life
Cons:- Charging time is not specified
- Brightness and runtime may vary depending on use
- Waterproofing is stated without a specific IP rating
Best for: Campers, drivers, and small households who want two collapsible lights for basic lantern and flashlight use.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need detailed brightness settings, a stated charging time, or a specific IP water-resistance rating.
- Pack count:2
- Light source:7 LED chips
- Charging methods:Solar and USB
- Battery capacity:1600 mAh
- Battery life:Up to 25 hours
- Beam angle:360 degrees
- Material:ABS
- Water resistance:Described as waterproof; no IP rating specified
- Dimensions:3.54 × 3.54 × 7.68 inches
Our verdict“Choose the XTAUTO two-pack for simple, compact lantern-and-flashlight flexibility rather than fine brightness control or detailed weather ratings.”
Energizer S-500 Hybrid Solar Camping Lantern
The Energizer S-500 suits buyers who want a straightforward lantern with both rechargeable and replaceable-battery power. It runs on a rechargeable lithium-ion battery charged by solar or USB, or on three AA batteries, giving it a backup route the XTAUTO two-pack does not list. Its 500-lumen output is lower than the Raynic’s 650 lumens and far below the Samuun C30’s 2000, but its three modes—including a night-light setting—cover basic camp and outage needs without a more elaborate color menu. The collapsible design, hanging hook, IPX4 rating, and stated one-meter drop resistance add useful everyday protection. The tradeoff is a heavier 0.47 kg build, plus AA batteries are needed when using that power option.
Pros:- Rechargeable lithium-ion power plus a 3-AA battery option
- Solar and USB charging support flexible recharging
- 360-degree light with High, Low, and Night Light modes
- IPX4 rating and stated drop resistance up to 1 meter
Cons:- Three AA batteries are required for battery-powered operation and are not stated as included
- At 0.47 kg, it is heavier than the 8.8-ounce Samuun C30
- Maximum output is lower than the Raynic and Samuun C30
Best for: Campers and outage-prepared households who want a familiar lantern with rechargeable charging plus replaceable AA-battery backup.
Not ideal for: Backpackers focused on minimizing weight or buyers who need very high output or a long, specified runtime.
- Light output:Up to 500 lumens
- Light modes:High, Low, and Night Light
- Power sources:Rechargeable lithium-ion battery or 3 AA batteries
- Charging:Solar panel or USB
- Beam angle:360 degrees
- Water resistance:IPX4
- Drop resistance:Up to 1 meter
- Dimensions:3.74 × 3.74 × 7.32 inches
- Weight:0.47 kg
Our verdict“Pick the Energizer S-500 if replaceable-battery backup and simple modes matter more than low weight or maximum brightness.”
Lepwings Solar Rechargeable Camping Lantern, 6000mAh
The Lepwings stands out for buyers who want solar and USB charging plus more control over runtime than a fixed-output lantern offers. Its 60–280-lumen dimming range lets you use a softer setting around camp or turn up the light for nearby tasks, while the stated maximum runtime of 80 hours favors extended, lower-brightness use. Compared with the Samuun C30, which is specified at 2,000 lumens, the Lepwings prioritizes adjustable, longer-lasting light over maximum output. Its 6,000mAh battery can also supply power to phones, adding practical backup value. The tradeoff is that solar charging depends on sunlight, and IPX4 protection covers splashes and rain, not submersion. I’d choose it for adaptable campsite or outage lighting, not as a high-output floodlight or a lantern to leave exposed to heavy water.
Pros:- Solar and USB charging provide two ways to replenish the battery.
- Dimming from 60 to 280 lumens helps balance useful light with runtime.
- Stated maximum runtime of up to 80 hours suits extended use at lower brightness.
- Can charge phones and other devices when a separate power bank is unavailable.
Cons:- Solar charging performance depends on sunlight and may not be dependable in poor weather.
- IPX4 water resistance is for splashes and rain, not submersion.
- At 280 lumens, it offers less maximum brightness than the 2,000-lumen Samuun C30.
Best for: Campers and outage-prepared households who want adjustable light, USB charging, and a phone-charging backup in one lantern.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need very high brightness for illuminating a large area, or a lantern that can withstand immersion or prolonged exposure to heavy rain.
- Battery capacity:6000mAh
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Charging methods:Solar and USB
- Brightness range:60–280 lumens
- Maximum battery life:Up to 80 hours
- USB recharge time:As little as 3 hours
- Water resistance:IPX4
- Color temperature:3000 K
Our verdict“Choose the Lepwings if adjustable brightness, dual charging, and long stated runtime matter more than maximum light output or immersion protection.”

How We Picked
I ranked these rechargeable solar lanterns by how clearly their listed features serve real camping and emergency needs: charging flexibility, stated light output, lighting modes, portability, water protection, and pack size. A lantern with solar plus USB charging offers a different kind of reassurance from a multi-pack that provides several lights, so I judged each on its intended use rather than treating one feature as a universal winner. Where a listing provides a specific figure, such as lumen output or battery capacity, I treat it as a point of comparison—not proof of runtime or brightness in every mode.
The order gives priority to versatility and decision clarity: the Energizer and Raynic earn attention for additional charging methods, while the multi-packs stand out for distributing light across more than one location. Higher stated output and capacity help distinguish the Samuun and Lepwings, but those claims alone do not answer questions about runtime or recharge time. Product details vary in specificity, so I favor options whose named features make their role clear and flag where buyers should confirm specifications before choosing.
| solar lantern rechargeable | Charging | Water resistance |
|---|---|---|
| Lichamp Collapsible Portable S | Solar and USB | Water resistant |
| Solar Rechargeable Camping Lan | Solar and USB-C | IPX4 |
| Lichamp 4-Pack Solar Camping L | — | Water resistant |
| Collapsible Portable LED Campi | Solar and USB | Listed as waterproof |
| DIBMS 4-Pack Solar Camping Lan | USB and solar | IPX4 |
| Raynic Rechargeable LED Campin | — | IPX4 |
| LETMY 4-Pack Rechargeable Sola | — | — |
| Samuun C30 Rechargeable Solar | USB and 1W monocrystalline solar panel | — |
| XTAUTO 2-Pack Collapsible Sola | — | Described as waterproof; no IP rating specified |
| Energizer S-500 Hybrid Solar C | Solar panel or USB | IPX4 |
| Lepwings Solar Rechargeable Ca | — | IPX4 |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Solar Lantern Rechargeable
Before choosing a solar rechargeable lantern, decide how you expect to charge and use it. A lantern for occasional backyard camping has different demands from one kept ready for a prolonged outage. These factors can help you avoid paying for features you will not use—or relying on solar charging when conditions make it slow.
Match charging methods to the conditions you expect
Solar charging is a useful backup, but it depends on sunlight, panel exposure, and charging time. If you expect cloudy weather, indoor use, or repeated nighttime lighting, give more weight to USB charging or another backup method. A hand crank, like the one listed on the Raynic, offers a manual option, but it may take effort and should not be treated as a quick substitute for a full charge. Check whether the lantern can charge from a power bank and whether its input connection suits the cables you already carry. A common mistake is to assume “solar” means the lantern will recharge quickly on a windowsill or during a short outing. Treat solar as one part of a charging plan, not the whole plan.
Compare output with usable runtime
A large lumen number can signal strong light, but it does not tell you how long the lantern will sustain that output. Look for runtime figures by mode, since a low setting may last much longer than a bright setting. If a listing gives capacity in milliamp-hours, remember that capacity alone does not reveal how the light is regulated or how much energy each mode uses. For a tent or table, spread and glare may matter more than peak brightness; for a larger outdoor area, higher output can be more useful. Avoid comparing lumen claims without checking whether the figures refer to the same mode or measurement conditions. When runtime information is missing, choose a model with charging flexibility and a mode that suits the task rather than relying on the headline number.
Choose a single lantern or a multi-pack by coverage
A four-pack can place light in several rooms, tents, or emergency-kit locations, while one brighter lantern keeps the setup simpler. Multi-packs in this lineup include several collapsible options, so they may suit families or groups that need distributed light rather than one central beam. Before buying, check whether each lantern has its own charging connection and whether the listing gives individual runtime details. A pack count does not tell you whether each unit matches a single lantern’s output, and a group may prefer fewer, brighter lights instead. Think through where the lights will go and whether you need them on at the same time. This prevents paying for extra units that will sit unused in storage.
Read water-protection claims closely
Camping can mean damp grass, splashes near a sink, or sustained rain, and those conditions call for different levels of protection. The 1000-lumen model lists IPX4 water resistance, a specific splash-resistance rating; that does not mean it can be submerged. Product names that say “waterproof” are not a substitute for a clear rating and usage instructions. Check whether ports have covers and whether the manufacturer provides care guidance for wet conditions. A common mistake is to leave a charging port exposed because the outer shell seems weatherproof. For regular use in rain, choose a lantern with explicit protection details and keep charging connections dry.
Consider packability, handling, and setup
Collapsible lanterns can take up less room in a vehicle or emergency kit, and some models combine lantern and flashlight functions. That flexibility helps when storage space is tight, though folding parts and multiple functions are only useful if they are simple to operate when needed. Check the stated dimensions and weight rather than assuming all collapsible designs pack down to the same size. Think about whether you will hang the light, set it on a table, or carry it while walking; handle design and stable placement can matter as much as compact storage. For emergency supplies, choose controls that are easy to identify in the dark. A more feature-rich design is not automatically the easiest one for every user.
Pay for useful backup features, not a longer feature list
Extra charging methods can justify choosing a more versatile lantern if you expect long outages or remote trips. A hand crank can help when stored batteries and sunlight are unavailable, while a hybrid model can reduce dependence on a single charging source. By contrast, a simple USB-and-solar lantern may be a better fit if you can recharge it before each trip and mainly need occasional light. Check whether added functions—such as a flashlight mode or multiple brightness settings—solve a real need for your group. Confirm the warranty, replacement-battery policy, and charging instructions before relying on a lantern for emergency use. The best value comes from dependable features you will use, not the longest list on the package.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a solar lantern be my only light source during a power outage?
It can provide useful light, but relying on one lantern leaves you exposed if its battery is low, damaged, or still charging. For outage preparation, keep a second light source and a way to recharge the lantern, such as a charged power bank or compatible USB supply. A multi-pack can spread light across several rooms, while a hybrid or hand-crank option adds charging flexibility. Test the controls and charging process before storing the lantern. Keep it somewhere accessible rather than packed behind other emergency supplies.
Is solar charging enough if I camp for several days?
That depends on sunlight, how often you use the lantern, and whether the product provides realistic solar charging details. Shade, cloudy weather, and short daylight hours can limit solar input, so it is risky to assume a few hours outside will replace a full charge. Bring a USB charging option or power bank if lighting is important after dark. Lower brightness settings can also help stretch the charge, provided they give enough light for your tasks. For a multi-day trip, check runtime by mode and plan charging time before setting out.
Should I choose a lantern with more lumens or a larger battery?
Choose based on the job: higher output can light a broader area, while greater battery capacity may support longer use, though neither specification alone guarantees a particular runtime. Look for mode-by-mode runtime and details about brightness control before comparing models. For reading inside a tent, a lower setting may be more comfortable and conserve power. For a shared campsite or emergency room, broader and brighter illumination may be more useful. If the listing omits runtime, avoid treating a lumen or capacity figure as a complete measure of performance.
Are four-pack solar lanterns a better choice than one lantern?
A multi-pack makes sense when you need light in multiple tents, rooms, or locations at once, or want several units stored in separate emergency kits. One lantern may be the better choice when you need a stronger central light or want fewer devices to charge and maintain. Compare the output and runtime of each lantern in the pack, not just the combined count. Also check whether each unit charges independently and whether the pack includes the cables or instructions you need. The right choice depends on coverage and convenience, not simply how many lanterns come in the box.
What should I verify before trusting a lantern for emergency use?
Confirm how it charges, how long it runs on the modes you expect to use, and whether those details are clearly stated. Check water protection, battery or charging-port care, and whether the lantern can be recharged from a power bank. Test its controls and recharge it before placing it in a kit, then check it periodically so it is not stored with an empty battery. Keep a separate backup light in case the lantern fails or needs charging. If you are choosing between solar-only and hybrid options, favor the one that fits your likely access to sunlight and power.
Conclusion
For the broadest mix of charging flexibility and familiar lantern use, I’d choose the Energizer S-500 as best overall. Buyers who want added backup when sunlight and USB power are unavailable should look at the Raynic with hand crank; those seeking several lights for a household or group can compare the Lichamp, XTAUTO, DIBMS, and LETMY multi-packs as value-oriented coverage options. For beginners, a straightforward USB-and-solar collapsible model is the easiest place to start, provided its runtime and charging instructions suit the intended use. The Samuun C30 is the premium-style pick for shoppers drawn to its stated 2000-lumen output, while the Lepwings 6000mAh fits buyers prioritizing listed battery capacity. Choose the 1000-lumen IPX4 model when a stated splash-resistance rating matters, and compare its protection limits with your conditions before taking it into persistent rain.











