If you are searching for a Mac Studio with 128GB unified memory, the main distinction in this lineup is that only one listing explicitly supports that capacity: the M5 Max Mac Studio. It is my leading pick for buyers who need a path to large-memory creative or on-device AI work, though the supplied details do not confirm the memory configuration of a specific unit. For a ready-to-use configuration with more documented capacity than the older models, the M4 Max with 64GB and a 2TB SSD is the more grounded alternative, while the M5 Max with 36GB and 1TB suits buyers who value the newer chip but do not need 128GB today.
Get your wardrobe favorites delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
The tradeoff is straightforward: prioritize memory headroom and current connectivity, choose a listed configuration with a known capacity, or accept an older renewed Mac Studio to reduce hardware demands. The two M1 Max models offer 32GB rather than 128GB and come with details that merit careful checking, including the listed operating system and condition. I rank these options by how well their confirmed specs match the 128GB goal, then by configuration clarity, connectivity, and the risks attached to the listing.
Key Takeaways
- The M5 Max Mac Studio is the only listing that explicitly supports up to 128GB unified memory; confirm the exact memory configuration before ordering.
- The M4 Max model lists 64GB unified memory and 2TB SSD, making it the clearest higher-capacity alternative if 128GB is not a firm requirement.
- The M5 Max 36GB/1TB configuration has a newer chip, but its listed memory is far below the 128GB target.
- Both renewed M1 Max models list 32GB memory, and neither is a substitute for a Mac Studio configured with 128GB.
- The renewed 512GB model has less local storage than the renewed 1TB model, while both require scrutiny of operating-system and condition details.
| mac studio with 128gb unified memory | Storage | Chip |
|---|---|---|
| Apple Mac Studio Desktop Compu | — | Apple M5 Max |
| Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max | 2TB SSD listed | Apple M4 Max |
| Apple Mac Studio with M5 Max | 1TB SSD | Apple M5 Max |
| Apple Mac Studio | 1TB SSD | — |
| Apple Mac Studio | 512GB SSD | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Apple Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max
This is the strongest match for a search centered on 128GB unified memory because the listing explicitly says the M5 Max platform supports up to that capacity. It also specifies up to 614GB/s memory bandwidth, four Thunderbolt 5 ports, Wi-Fi 7, and support for up to five external displays. Those details make it a credible fit for a workstation with large creative projects, fast external storage, and several screens. The compact enclosure may help when desk space is limited, without forcing a move to a conventional tower.
Compared with the M5 Max configuration that lists 36GB, this model is the better direction if memory headroom is the priority. Compared with the M4 Max listing, it advertises newer connectivity and a higher maximum memory ceiling, but the M4 listing gives a specific 64GB capacity and 2TB SSD. That difference matters: a stated maximum does not confirm the memory installed in the particular item for sale. I would verify the exact configuration and storage before purchase rather than assuming it arrives with 128GB.
The available information also leaves configuration-dependent memory and storage details unresolved. Buyers who need a ready-to-run 128GB workstation should confirm those specifics with the seller. For a buyer prepared to check the configuration, this is the lineup’s clearest platform-level match to the request; the renewed M1 models are far less suitable because their listed memory is only 32GB.
Pros:- Explicitly supports up to 128GB unified memory
- Four Thunderbolt 5 ports plus USB-A, USB-C, HDMI, and SDXC
- Up to 614GB/s stated memory bandwidth
- Supports up to five external displays in a compact enclosure
Cons:- The listing does not confirm that the specific unit includes 128GB
- Storage capacity and configuration details are not specified
- The maximum memory and speed details may depend on configuration
Best for: Creative professionals, developers, and AI-workflow buyers who need the option of configuring a Mac Studio with up to 128GB and can verify the exact unit details.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a confirmed 128GB configuration and storage capacity from the listing alone, or who want the memory and SSD specified unambiguously before ordering.
- Chip:Apple M5 Max
- Maximum unified memory:Up to 128GB
- Memory bandwidth:Up to 614GB/s
- Thunderbolt:4 Thunderbolt 5 ports
- Other ports:2 USB-C, 2 USB-A, HDMI, SDXC, headphone jack
- Wireless:Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6
- External displays:Up to 5
- Dimensions and weight:7.76 x 7.76 x 3.74 inches; 5.94 pounds
Our verdict“I rank this first for its explicit 128GB upgrade ceiling, provided you verify the memory and storage configuration of the exact unit.”
Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max, 16-Core CPU, 40-Core GPU, 64GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSD
For buyers who would rather see a configured memory amount than rely on a platform maximum, this M4 Max listing is the most useful alternative. It specifies 64GB unified memory and a 2TB SSD, putting it ahead of the M5 Max 36GB configuration for installed memory and local storage. Its 40-core GPU and stated support for ray tracing and mesh shading also point toward graphics-heavy creative work, including visual effects and 3D projects.
It is not a 128GB machine as described, so I would not choose it when that capacity is a hard requirement. Its strength is configuration clarity: 64GB is a substantial step above the 32GB renewed M1 Max listings and the 36GB M5 Max option. Yet the supplied product information contains inconsistent memory and storage details, which weakens that advantage. I would check the exact specification shown for the item before buying rather than rely on the headline alone.
Compared with the top-ranked M5 Max, this model has a lower-generation chip and no supplied detail about Thunderbolt 5 or Wi-Fi 7, but it lists a concrete 2TB drive and 64GB of memory. That makes it better suited to someone whose work fits within 64GB and who values a clearly stated storage configuration. Skip it if your projects need 128GB resident memory or if the listing cannot resolve its conflicting details.
Pros:- Lists 64GB of unified memory
- Lists a 2TB SSD for larger local project libraries
- 40-core GPU is aimed at demanding graphics work
- Compact square enclosure suits a desk workstation
Cons:- Does not meet the requested 128GB capacity
- Product information reportedly contains inconsistent memory and storage details
- The provided connectivity description is less specific than the M5 Max 128GB-capable listing
Best for: Video editors, 3D artists, and other creative users who want a listed 64GB/2TB configuration and do not require 128GB.
Not ideal for: Buyers with a firm 128GB memory requirement or anyone unwilling to verify the conflicting memory and storage information.
- Chip:Apple M4 Max
- CPU:16-core
- GPU:40-core
- Unified memory:64GB listed
- Storage:2TB SSD listed
- Graphics features:Ray tracing and mesh shading
- Operating system:macOS
- Enclosure:7.7-inch square
Our verdict“I recommend this as the clearest higher-memory fallback, but only after confirming the advertised 64GB and 2TB configuration.”
Apple Mac Studio with M5 Max, 18-Core CPU, 32-Core GPU, 36GB Memory, 1TB SSD
This M5 Max configuration is for buyers who want the newer chip but do not need anything close to the headline 128GB capacity. Its listed 36GB unified memory and 1TB SSD make the actual configuration clear, unlike the M5 Max listing that gives a maximum memory figure without confirming the unit’s installed amount. The 18-core CPU and 32-core GPU place it in a current-generation creative desktop category, while its compact design can fit a focused workstation without a large tower.
Against the 64GB M4 Max, this model gives up 28GB of listed memory and 1TB of listed storage. That makes the M4 the stronger choice for larger active projects, assuming its inconsistent listing details are resolved. Against the 128GB-capable M5 Max, this configuration is less suitable for memory-heavy AI or complex production workflows, but it is more explicit about what the buyer receives. A newer processor cannot compensate for insufficient memory when the application workload is the limiting factor.
The listing mentions Thunderbolt, Ethernet, HDMI, and Wi-Fi but does not provide the same detailed port count as the first-ranked M5 Max option. It also says a keyboard is listed as an input device without clarifying whether accessories are included. I would treat this as a compact, newer-chip desktop for moderate memory needs, not as a substitute for a verified 128GB workstation.
Pros:- M5 Max with 18-core CPU and 32-core GPU
- Lists 36GB unified memory and a 1TB SSD
- Compact Mac Studio desktop form
- Connectivity list includes Ethernet, HDMI, Thunderbolt, and Wi-Fi
Cons:- 36GB is far below the 128GB target and below the listed M4 Max capacity
- Thunderbolt version and full port counts are not specified
- Included accessories are unclear
Best for: Users who want an M5 Max Mac Studio with a clearly listed 36GB/1TB configuration for creative, business, or personal workloads that fit within that memory.
Not ideal for: Large-model AI users, high-resolution video workflows, or anyone who specifically needs 128GB or more than 36GB of installed memory.
- Chip:Apple M5 Max
- CPU:18-core
- GPU:32-core integrated
- Unified memory:36GB
- Storage:1TB SSD
- Operating system:macOS
- Connectivity:Bluetooth, Ethernet, HDMI, Thunderbolt, Wi-Fi
- Warranty:1-year limited manufacturer coverage
Our verdict“Choose this for a clearly specified M5 Max system when 36GB is enough, not as a memory-heavy alternative to the 128GB-capable model.”
Apple Mac Studio (2022) with M1 Max, 10-Core CPU, 24-Core GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Silver (Renewed)
This renewed 2022 Mac Studio is a fallback for buyers whose workloads are comfortable with 32GB memory and who value a listed 1TB SSD. Its M1 Max combines a 10-core CPU and 24-core GPU, but the age and memory configuration place it well behind the M5 Max 128GB-capable option for large datasets or demanding multitasking. The 1TB drive gives it a practical advantage over the other renewed M1 Max in this roundup, which lists only 512GB.
That storage difference is useful for local media and project files, but neither renewed M1 Max approaches the 64GB M4 Max or the 128GB-capable M5 Max in memory headroom. It is a different kind of purchase: a pre-owned, inspected, tested, and cleaned computer with a stated 90-day replacement or refund window, rather than a current-generation machine aimed at maximum memory capacity. Accessories may be non-original, and the product details list macOS High Sierra, a point that should be checked because it may not accurately describe the installed software.
The stated ports are limited to two USB ports and one HDMI port, which is less informative and seemingly narrower than the connectivity lists for the newer options. The listing also identifies this as renewed rather than Apple certified. I would consider it only for basic-to-moderate workloads where 32GB and older hardware are sufficient; buyers searching specifically for 128GB should move up to the M5 Max listing.
Pros:- Lists 32GB memory and a 1TB SSD
- M1 Max has a 10-core CPU and 24-core GPU
- Professionally inspected, tested, and cleaned
- 90-day replacement or refund eligibility is stated
Cons:- Renewed and not Apple certified
- Accessories may be non-original and packaging may be generic
- Listed operating system and port details merit verification
Best for: Budget-conscious buyers open to a renewed Mac Studio who need 32GB memory and prefer a listed 1TB SSD over the 512GB renewed alternative.
Not ideal for: Anyone needing 128GB, current-generation performance, a clearly documented operating system, or a new and fully specified configuration.
- Model year:2022
- Processor:Apple M1 Max
- CPU and GPU:10-core CPU; 24-core GPU
- Memory:32GB
- Storage:1TB SSD
- Condition:Renewed
- Warranty or remedy:90-day replacement or refund eligibility
- Listed operating system:macOS High Sierra; verify listing details
Our verdict“Among the renewed choices, I prefer this one for its 1TB SSD, while recognizing that its 32GB memory does not fit a 128GB-focused workload.”
Apple Mac Studio (2022) with M1 Max, 10-Core CPU, 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD (Renewed)
This renewed M1 Max option shares the older 2022 platform and 32GB memory of the 1TB model, but cuts the listed SSD capacity to 512GB. That puts it last for a search focused on 128GB: it has only one-quarter of that target’s capacity and half the storage of the other renewed Mac Studio here. Its role is narrower—an entry point for buyers who have modest workloads, rely on external storage, and are comfortable considering a pre-owned desktop.
Compared with the 1TB renewed M1 Max, the processor and memory are similar, so local storage is the main stated difference. If you keep media libraries, applications, or active projects on the internal drive, the 1TB model is more accommodating. If your files mostly live on external drives or network storage, this 512GB configuration may still cover a smaller setup. Neither renewed choice can match the memory headroom of the M4 Max or the stated 128GB ceiling of the M5 Max.
The seller describes the unit as inspected, tested, and cleaned by an Amazon-qualified supplier, with compatible accessories that may not be original and a 90-day replacement or refund window. It is not Apple certified, and the listing’s macOS High Sierra detail should be verified rather than taken as an accurate current software specification. I would skip it for professional workloads that depend on large memory pools, heavy local media storage, or newer platform features.
Pros:- M1 Max with a 10-core CPU
- Lists 32GB memory for everyday and moderate workloads
- Inspected, tested, and cleaned by an Amazon-qualified supplier
- 90-day replacement or refund eligibility is stated
Cons:- 512GB SSD is the smallest listed storage capacity in this group
- Renewed, not Apple certified, with accessories that may not be original
- Listed operating system and pre-owned condition details require verification
Best for: Buyers considering a renewed Mac Studio for lighter work who already use external storage and can accept 32GB memory.
Not ideal for: Anyone seeking 128GB unified memory, substantial internal project storage, or a new current-generation Mac Studio.
- Model:Mac Studio (2022)
- Processor:Apple M1 Max, 10-core CPU
- Memory:32GB
- Storage:512GB SSD
- Graphics:Integrated
- Condition:Renewed
- Warranty or remedy:90-day replacement or refund eligibility
- Listed operating system:macOS High Sierra; verify listing details
Our verdict“I would choose this only for a modest renewed setup with external storage; it is the weakest fit here for a 128GB memory goal.”

How We Picked
I ranked these five listings by how directly they address a buyer searching for 128GB of unified memory, not by treating every Mac Studio as interchangeable. The M5 Max listing comes first because it explicitly states support for up to 128GB, and its Thunderbolt 5 ports, broad port selection, and stated display capacity also suit demanding desktop workflows. That maximum is not the same as confirmation that every offered configuration ships with 128GB, so I call out the need to verify the exact unit.
Next, I weighed configured memory and storage. The M4 Max listing specifies 64GB and 2TB, a clearer ready-to-use option than listings that only state a processor or maximum capacity. The M5 Max 36GB configuration ranks below it for this particular search because the installed memory is much lower, even though its chip generation is newer. The two 2022 M1 Max listings sit at the bottom: both specify 32GB, are renewed rather than new, and include information that may be inconsistent or incomplete. I distinguish them by storage, with the 1TB model ahead of the 512GB model.
I also considered whether the listing gives buyers enough reliable detail to compare configurations. When details conflict—such as storage and memory in the M4 Max description, or the operating system and ports in the renewed listings—I treat that as a real purchase risk rather than filling gaps with assumptions. These are editorial comparisons based on the supplied specifications, not claims of hands-on testing.
| mac studio with 128gb unified memory | Chip |
|---|---|
| Apple Mac Studio Desktop Compu | Apple M5 Max |
| Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max | Apple M4 Max |
| Apple Mac Studio with M5 Max | Apple M5 Max |
| Apple Mac Studio | — |
| Apple Mac Studio | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Mac Studio With 128gb Unified Memory
For this comparison, the first buying question is not which chip name sounds newest; it is whether the exact Mac Studio configuration provides enough unified memory for your work. The listings range from a platform advertised to support up to 128GB to renewed systems with 32GB installed.Separate Maximum Supported Memory from Installed Memory
Up to 128GB describes the M5 Max platform’s stated ceiling; it does not prove that the particular listing ships with 128GB. Check the order configuration and product details for the installed capacity. By contrast, the M4 Max listing states 64GB and the other M5 Max states 36GB. Both renewed M1 Max options list 32GB. If an application routinely keeps large scenes, datasets, or models in memory, buying the exact required capacity matters more than choosing a machine with a high maximum that may arrive configured below it.
Match Memory to the Work You Run
For large creative projects, extensive multitasking, or local AI workflows, the 128GB-capable M5 Max is the strongest candidate in this group, subject to configuration confirmation. A 64GB M4 Max is the most substantial explicitly listed alternative. The 36GB M5 Max can make sense when the workload is less memory intensive and the newer chip is a priority. The 32GB renewed machines belong in a separate category: they may suit moderate tasks, but buyers should not treat them as equivalent substitutes for a 128GB workstation.
Account for Storage and External Drives
Memory and SSD capacity address different needs. Unified memory supports active workloads, while internal storage holds applications and files. Here, the M4 Max lists 2TB, the 36GB M5 Max lists 1TB, the renewed M1 Max options list either 1TB or 512GB, and the 128GB-capable listing does not state a drive size. If your projects occupy substantial local space, check that specification separately. Thunderbolt connectivity can support fast external storage, but it does not turn a smaller internal SSD into a larger one.
Check Ports, Displays, and Desk Setup
The first-ranked M5 Max listing gives the clearest port and display details: four Thunderbolt 5 ports, USB-A, USB-C, HDMI, SDXC, and support for up to five external displays. That combination helps users connecting several displays, card media, and high-speed peripherals. The M5 Max 36GB option gives a shorter connectivity list without port counts, while the renewed listings provide limited or incomplete port information. Compare the exact ports against your existing monitors, docks, and storage before deciding.
Treat Renewed Listings as a Different Purchase
Both M1 Max systems are described as renewed, not Apple certified, and may arrive with non-original accessories or generic packaging. The supplied details state a 90-day replacement or refund eligibility, but also list macOS High Sierra, which should be checked with the seller because operating-system information may be inconsistent. Ask about the computer’s condition, included accessories, and software before ordering. The lower memory and older platform make these choices poor matches for a strict 128GB requirement, regardless of their storage capacity.
Use Listing Clarity as a Tie-Breaker
Configuration uncertainty is a practical risk, not a minor paperwork issue. The M5 Max with 128GB support lacks a confirmed installed memory amount and storage capacity, while the M4 Max product information is reported to contain inconsistent storage and memory details. Verify the specifications associated with the exact selectable item. When a seller cannot clarify a configuration, a lower-capacity model with clearly stated specifications may be easier to evaluate—but it still may not meet the workload you have in mind.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which Mac Studio in this roundup can support 128GB unified memory?
The Apple Mac Studio with M5 Max is the only listing here that explicitly states support for up to 128GB unified memory. The supplied information does not confirm that the specific unit for sale includes 128GB, so check the exact configuration before ordering. The M4 Max listing states 64GB, the other M5 Max lists 36GB, and both renewed M1 Max models list 32GB.
Does the M5 Max listing come with 128GB installed?
That is not confirmed by the provided product details. The listing states a maximum supported capacity of up to 128GB, which is different from stating the installed memory in the particular unit. I would verify the configuration shown for the exact item with the seller or product selector, and confirm the storage capacity at the same time, since the listing does not specify it.
Is the 64GB M4 Max a reasonable alternative to 128GB?
It can be a sensible alternative if your applications and projects fit within 64GB, and its listing also specifies a 2TB SSD and 40-core GPU. It is not equivalent to 128GB for workloads that need a larger memory pool. The listing has reported inconsistencies in its memory and storage details, so confirm that the actual configuration is 64GB with a 2TB drive before choosing it over the M5 Max option.
Are either of the renewed M1 Max models suitable for a 128GB workload?
Not based on the specifications provided. Both renewed M1 Max listings state 32GB memory, which is far below 128GB. The 1TB model offers more internal storage than the 512GB model, but that does not increase unified memory. These options are better treated as older, lower-memory alternatives for moderate workloads, and their renewed condition and listing details should be checked carefully.
What should I verify before ordering a Mac Studio from this list?
Confirm the exact installed unified memory, SSD capacity, chip configuration, included accessories, and ports for the specific item being sold. For renewed models, also ask about condition, packaging, the stated remedy period, and the operating system; the supplied listings include software and configuration details that may be inconsistent. For the 128GB-capable M5 Max, distinguish the stated maximum from the memory actually included in the unit.
Conclusion
For a buyer who truly needs 128GB unified memory, I would start with the M5 Max Mac Studio because it is the only option in this group that states support for that ceiling. I would order only after confirming that the specific configuration includes the capacity required and checking its SSD size. If 64GB is enough, the M4 Max is the alternative I would investigate next, thanks to its listed 2TB SSD and stronger stated memory capacity than the 36GB and 32GB models—but its conflicting details need clarification.
Choose the M5 Max with 36GB if your workload is moderate and a clearly listed 1TB configuration matters more than 128GB headroom. Consider the renewed M1 Max with 1TB only if a pre-owned system and older platform fit your needs; the 512GB renewed model makes sense only for lighter work with external storage. For buyers whose jobs depend on large memory pools, my recommendation is clear: prioritize the verified installed memory, not a maximum-capacity claim or a newer chip label alone.
Halloween Picks

3 ft. Halloween Groundbreaker Skeleton for Outdoor Decoration

12.5-Foot Lighted Halloween Inflatable Archway

27FT Giant Inflatable Pumpkin Lighted Outdoor Halloween Decor
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.





